Córdoba

View of the city from afar.

On Saturday, our study abroad group took a trip to Córdoba, a city with 300,000 habitants about an hour and a half northeast of Sevilla.  Instead of telling you everything we did, I’d like to share a few photos with you (photocredit: Amelia Smith) since a picture is worth a thousand words 🙂

Walking into the city along the bridge.

In front of one of the churches in the city

Columns inside the mezquita. There were rows upon rows of these columns leaving a large space where the Muslims could pray each day.

Inside the cathedral, which is by far the most beautiful building I have ever seen. There was SO much detail!

The cathedral. Even the picture cannot do it justice.

Everything about Córdoba is just so quaint.  When we walked into the city, there were musicians lined up along the bridge playing their violins, guitars, and accordions.  I love that no one seems to be in a rush, so a crowd gathers just to stop and listen for a minute or two.  We definitely need more of that in the U.S.  The streets are all very narrow and made of cobblestone, making it feel as if I was walking through the set of some rom-com movie.  By far, my favorite part of the excursion was our tour of the mezquita/cathedral.  Since Christians and Muslims have both ruled Córdoba at different points in history, some parts of the building are considered the Islamic mezquita (or Islamic temple) while others are considered the Christian cathedral.  When I walked into the cathedral, I was speechless.  I have never seen a building with so much detail on every inch of its walls, ceiling, or floor.  I wish we had more time to explore, but to really appreciate all of its beauty, it would take at least a few days!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Córdoba

  1. Mark says:

    You are right about the detail. How did the Moorish buildings compare to what you saw last week?

  2. Aunt Karen says:

    Amazing pics Anna!! Thanks for sharing them with us—I love all the detail on the building and of course….to see you looking amazing. Take it all in!!!
    ps. Is that another new outfit? 🙂 Don’t forget to shop!!!!

    • annaollinger says:

      Ha thanks, Aunt Karen. Nope, not a new outfit. I did bring quite a bit in my suitcase though, so I haven’t even worn everything yet 😉 I’ve been shopping a few times and want to buy everything, so I’m just waiting a bit until I find a few things I really want!

Leave a Reply

