Florence

Thursday was All Saint’s Day, so we didn’t have university or EUSA classes. WIN!  Added bonus of not having class: getting to leave for Italy a day early.  I guess, sometimes, you can have your cake AND eat it too 😉

So, our group of nine left bright and early on Thursday morning.  And when I say early, I mean early.  As I was leaving my apartment, there were still people out and about celebrating Halloween.  But, I was definitely glad we had an early start because after flying into Rome, we had to take a bus and then a train to get to Florence.  By the time we finally got to our hostel in Florence, it was mid-afternoon.

Although Amsterdam is still my favorite (in terms of cities I have visited thus far), I loved Florence as well.  When I thought of Italy before visiting, a picture of a place similar to Florence always popped up in my head.  There were definitely quite a few touristy hot spots throughout the city, but I felt that it was easy to escape the crowds and get a feel for the “real” Italy when we wanted to.  Florence is beautiful and it is a great size, since we were basically able to walk any and everywhere.

I feel like it may be easier to show you what we did in Florence with pictures and captions, so enjoy  🙂

Right after getting to Florence, we went to Galleria dell Academia to see Michelangelo’s famous “David.” We weren’t allowed to take pictures inside of the museum, but “David” was seriously amazing! The statue was much bigger than I had initially expected.

We heard from a couple of our friends that Gusta Pizza has the best pizza in Florence, so we went there our first night! Definitely a great pizza, but I don’t know if it can live up to Pizano’s deep dish 😉

My gusta pizza–ate it all!

First out of four gelatos: one scoop of white chocolate pistachio and one scoop of cookies!

Michelangelo’s tomb.

There were SO many statues in Florence, so Mary Morgan and I decided to imitate them.

The group in front of the “David” replica.

More statue imitation…

The Duomo.

On Friday afternoon, we walked through Florence’s famous leather markets. So many vendors!

More markets! Dried fruit: my favorite!

Inside the Duomo.

An(n)a squared.

Gelato number two: hazelnut and pistachio.

Mary Morgan, Ana, Amelia, and I

We saw the sunset from the Piazzale Michelangelo on Friday. Such beautiful views! We even got to listen to some live music in the plaza after!

On Friday night, I got to meet up with my friend, Katie, who is studying abroad in Florence! It was great to see her!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Florence

  1. Aunt Karen says:

    Fun! Fun! Fun! You sure are out and about. Looks like you knew quite a few others that have been studying abroad. Are they all UNC students or have you met them through the program? I’ve heard Florence is the place to go. Have fun in London, Anna!

  2. All the people I traveled with are other UNC study abroad students. But, I also have quite a few friends from UNC that are studying abroad in other cities. Florence was really awesome! Thanks, I LOVE London already!

    Miss you!!

Leave a Reply

