Roma!

Rome was definitely much different than I expected.  Peaceful, romantic, and quaint images came to mind when I pictured Italy prior to this trip.  Rome was indeed beautiful, but it was far more touristy than I thought it would be, which definitely was a turn-off for me.  However, given we only had a day and a half in Rome, we were quickly going from spot to spot in order to make sure that we hit up the main attractions.  If we had a little more time to explore other and all areas of the city, I think I would have left with a more positive opinion of Rome.

Despite the fact that I liked Florence much better, I still really enjoyed myself in Rome.   Enjoy the photos 🙂

On Saturday we went to a hole-in-the-wall pizza place, Alice’s Pizza, for lunch. It definitely was not a tourist hot spot given we were the only ones not speaking Italian. Seriously some of the best thin-crust pizza I’ve had! May or may not have had six slices of pizza. 

Waiting in line for St. Peter’s Basilica. Although the line to get in was enormous, it went relatively quickly.

St. Peter’s Basilica in the Vatican was one of the most beautiful cathedrals I have visited (a close second to La Sagrada Familia, in my opinion). While we were in the basilica, a Spanish cardinal was leading mass. It was very neat to see all the people gathered and witness a religious ceremony first-hand.

St. Peter’s Basilica: tallest dome in the world.

We climbed to the top of St. Peter’s Basilica, which was quite the trek. The stairwell to the stop was very narrow and steep. As you can see, the walls and stairs were slanted, so we were often climbing on a diagonal.

View from the top of St. Peter’s Basilica.

Laura, Leigh, Ana, and I at the top of St. Peter’s Basilica.

After touring St. Peter’s Basilica, we went to one of Rome’s most-famous gelaterias, Old Bridge Gelateria. I had a cone with three scoops of gelato: cookie, nutella, and pistachio!

Trevi fountain.

Making our wishes!

The Pantheon.

Leigh, Ana, Laura, and Amelia in front of some ruins.

The Coloseum.

Overall, had a GREAT weekend in Italy.  I loved the sites we visited, the food we ate, and most importantly, the friends I traveled with.  I can’t believe I leave for London in just four short days and that my family will be in Sevilla in TWO WEEKS! YAYAY!

Hope you all had a great weekend as well!

Anna

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roma!

  1. Aunt Karen says:

    The pics of the Coloseum are amazing. Remember you have Italian roots too…..you come from a short line of winemakers…..the Regnillo’s.

Leave a Reply

