The home stretch…

My days left in Sevilla are numbered.  I seriously can’t believe that I’m leaving this Sunday.  Wait…what?  I feel like I just got here.  Remember this?

airport

How the time flies…I know I will be leaving on Sunday with mixed emotions.  As most of you are aware, I’m definitely ready to come home.  I can’t wait to see my friends/family (aka, everyone that reads this) and really get into the holiday spirit.  No surprise there, right?

But, on the other hand, I’m starting to get sad.  I know Sunday is a day for goodbyes, which are nobody’s favorite.  Although I know I will see my friends from UNC when I head back to school in January, I don’t know the next time I will see my Cristina, Meri, Agu, or Dunja.  I was sitting at lunch today with Cristina and we started talking about how this is a week of lasts: the last time she will do our laundry, our last Tuesday dinner together, etc.  Out of nowhere, I got so emotional and almost started crying!  I know for a fact that she is the best host mom out there, but I’ll leave all my love for my mamacita in a future post dedicated to just her. 🙂

Saying goodbye to the Uruguayans (including Dunja, because let’s face it, she can be considered an Uruguayan after living with Meri and Agu) will not be fun either, but we promised each other that a 2013 reunion is a must!

Photo on 2012-11-28 at 14.16 #3

This past week has been filled with studying for finals.  Last week, I had my dreadful art class final exam.  Unlike classes in the United States, grades of  university classes in Spain (and other parts of Europe as well) are generally based off of the final exam.  Although it is nice not to have to do much work throughout the semester, it puts a LOT of pressure on the final exam.  For my 19th century art history class, the final was indeed worth 100% of my grade.  The format of the exam was SUPPOSED to consist of a few essays, along with a section in which we would have to identify the title, artist, date, corresponding movement, and general characteristics of a variety of works of art we studied.  Given that we covered so much material, I started studying far in advance to ensure that I would be able to recognize all the images and associated information on the exam.  When I entered my professor’s office on Friday, he had us (me and two other American students) sit on his sofa and he told us that we had an hour to write everything we knew about Rodin.  For those of you that don’t know, Rodin is a famous French sculptor and his works are some of the best representations of realist art.  However, my professor pronounced Rodin’s name according to its French pronunciation instead of the Spanish pronunciation.  As a result, I interpreted what he said as “Redon,” one of the most famous symbolist artists we studied.  So, I started scribbling down all the information crammed into my brain about Redon.  After about 25 minutes, I figured out that my friend, Ned, was writing about Rodin, not Redon.  In a moment of pure panic, I went up and asked my professor to clarify which artist he wanted us to write about.  After he answered, I thought: CRAP. I’ve been writing about the wrong guy the entire time!  I quickly went back to my seat and used the remaining time to write about the CORRECT artist.  Luckily, I had sufficient time to do so!  Crisis averted.  After the allotted hour was up, my professor told us that he didn’t have enough time to show us the slides in order to complete the identification portion of the exam because he had to go to a meeting.  WHAT?!  I couldn’t believe he was so relaxed about the test and that I had memorized all those image for basically nothing.  Oh well, I think I did well enough on the essay to pass, which is all that matters in the grand scheme of things.  But, I have never had ONE question determine my ENTIRE grade. Crazy, huh?

Projects, presentations, and finals since my art final have thankfully been less dramatic.  Only have one more left on Friday and then, I’m done!

Since I’ve last blogged, I’ve been doing my best to relax and enjoy spending time in Sevilla.  I want to do some retrospective blog posts once I get home, but I’ll share some photos with you all so you can see what I’ve been up to:

Spending time with Cristina, per usual.

Spending time with Cristina, per usual.

Christmas party at Dunja, Meri, and Agu's apartment!

Christmas party at Dunja, Meri, and Agu’s apartment!

DSCN2625

Meri made us a traditional Uruguayan "slider" and french fries. Delicious!

Meri made us a traditional Uruguayan “slider” and french fries. Delicious!

DSCN2641

DSCN2638

Carly and I made Cristina a traditional American breakfast for dinner one night. Of course, gluten-free pancakes for Carly :)

Carly and I made Cristina a traditional American breakfast for dinner one night. Of course, gluten-free pancakes for Carly 🙂

DSCN2659

DSCN2661

DSCN2663

Enjoying the spectacular Christmas lights in Sevilla!

Enjoying the spectacular Christmas lights in Sevilla!

DSCN2681

DSCN2684

Sevilla vs. Valladolid Soccer Game

Sevilla vs. Valladolid Soccer Game

I’m leaving Sunday morning and flying from Sevilla-Madrid-London-Chicago.  It’s going to be a loooooonnnnnng day of traveling (believe me, already have warned my parents of how cranky I will be).  Before then, I’ll be studying for my lexicology final and enjoying my last few days here.  Clearly hitting up Rayas a few times is a must. 🙂

Besos,

Anna

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The home stretch…

  1. Mom says:

    May you have very fond memories of your trip and experience of a lifetime! This makes me cry (you know me, I cry at the drop of a hat). Selfishly, I am looking forward to you coming home. The holidays would not be the same without being surrounded by family. Many thanks to Cristina for making your stay so memorable; she is so grounded in the Spanish culture and family values. Safe travels on your long journey back to the states.

  2. Mark says:

    Great post; we look forward to seeing you and your retrospective post. What a great experience for you. There will be many more.

  3. annaollinger says:

    Of course you cried mom, that’s why we call you the blubbering seal 🙂 Can’t wait to see you both!

  4. Aunt Karen says:

    Anna, already? Hard to believe that your time in Spain is coming to an end. I really really have loved following the “Adventures of Anna”! You are a great writer and the pics–awesome. Can’t wait to see you……what an amazing trip! Love you.

  5. annaollinger says:

    Thanks, Aunt Karen! Can’t wait to see you too! Love you!

Leave a Reply

